THE THING ABOUT ANTS AND ASTRONAUTS by Justen Russell

ANTS and AstroNauTS, and we learn of two characters, one called NATalie, lost in space while scouting nebulae, as is the narrator searching for them, a narrator bemused by a particular nebula called Blackheart and its scientifically impossible plANeTS. I think I partially understood what was going on and I certainly found it intriguing! I was spatially inspired by the detailed parallels of this nebula-scouting with the narrator’s not always happy memories of childhood when their house in Kanpur was infested by marching ants… and I noted the narrator’s self-diagnosed psychological state, we are constantly told, being one called ”NoT Attached” (my upper case). Still working on this story’s themes, every damn atom of me!

“I am supposed to fly headlong into the unknown, not avoid it, but some unknowns feel unknowable, like the event horizon of a black hole or what lies beyond the boundary of death.”

***

Full Interzone context: https://dflewisreviews.wordpress.com/2022/07/23/interzone-292-293/#comment-25150

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “THE THING ABOUT ANTS AND ASTRONAUTS by Justen Russell

Leave a comment